Location Shooting – Tewksbury

On Friday night I went to the Mop Fair in Tewksbury to do some night shooting, and I was fairly happy with my results. When I went to go and get some feedback half way through the shoot I was told that one of the lenses I had been using (18-55mm) was basically dead, it was easily knocked out of focus as a result of it being dropped so many times. I was also told that I had been shooting with a setting that made all my photos slightly darker than they would naturally be which was frustrating. However I corrected this and changed lenses so that I was only using my 55-200mm lens. This meant that I had to think more about the kind of photographs I was taking and where I was taking them from. It also changed the way that flash affected the image  because obviously I was taking photos of things further away and so the light had to travel further.

I still have quite a lot of work to do in terms of learning how to balance the relationship between shutter speed, aperture and ISO in order to get the best results under different light conditions. Often I was shooting on an f-stop that was too high and a fast shutter speed which meant that a lot of my photos came out very soft, which wasn’t my intention. Also because I was holding the camera by hand, not using a tripod and zooming in quite far, it was difficult to get a sharp image.

I would like to have taken more photos using flash, but I didn’t like the way that it drew attention towards me, whereas without flash I could hide better. People always seem to be suspicious even if you’re only pointing a camera in their general direction, however this might just be me being paranoid.

If I were to go back and do the shoot again, to start with I would take a 50mm lens that wasn’t broken! I would perhaps find a location where I could stay still for a while and take lots of photos, letting the people come to me, rather than walking around constantly looking for things to photograph. I would also be braver with my use of flash, again, staying in one place would have allowed me to adjust my camera setting to the suit the environment.

 

dsc_0067I took this just as we were leaving the fairground, the few that I took of this candy floss stall are probably my favourites.

dsc_0037Taken through the back window of the candy floss stall, a young girl, perhaps the granddaughter of the stall owner, helping out.

dsc_0935I’m not sure what these people were looking at, but I liked their facial expressions. This would have been a good opportunity to use flash because I was far away from them.

dsc_0255A ballon seller, who didn’t want her portrait taken because she ‘didn’t have her makeup on’ , but was happy to be in general photos.

dsc_0191This was such a good photo opportunity, with the dog hanging out of the woman’s backpack, but I hadn’t got the correct camera settings and I didn’t use flash and so the image came out soft and quite dark. dsc_0045I like how the candy floss and sweets frame the little girl in this photo.dsc_0054The stall holder piling up the bags of candy floss. This is another time where looking back I should have experimented with flash in order to light up the bags in the foreground.

dsc_0739One of the few photos I took using flash, I like the motion blur that has occurred as a result. 

dsc_0104A shooting stall.

dsc_0169A stall holder sits on his phone, while a young girl looks on. Another opportunity where I should have tried the same photo with flash.dsc_0287The use of flash in this photo brings out the vivid colours of the balloons and their strings.

dsc_0096A girl asking her parents for money. Here I have tried to light the girl using only the light from the stall.dsc_0291Another photo of the balloon seller. I used flash for this photo, resulting in some motion blur.

dsc_0220One of the fairground employees climbing on top of a carousel.dsc_0023dsc_0781A girl and her mother watching the bumper cars. I took this while balancing my camera on my knee and so I didn’t know exactly what would be in frame. dsc_0993Taken through the glass of one of the machines in the arcade.

 

 

Leave a Reply

