Street | Photographer Research | Laura Pannack

“I learn most when I walk with a camera; about myself and the company I share. I engage. I stop mentally. I listen.”

Laura Pannack is a London based Photographer. She was educated at the University of Brighton Central Saint Martins College of Art and LCC.

Her work has been extensively exhibited and published both in the UK and internationally, including at The National Portrait Gallery, The Houses of Parliament, Somerset House, and the Royal Festival Hall in London.

(http://laurapannack.com/about/)

The photo series I am most interested in that Pannack has shot is ‘The Walks’. On her website she explains how “These images are the truth; they were taken with nothing but the desire to take them. There was no pressure, agenda or reason behind them. They each have a tale, a place, a moment, all innocently experienced. The project has no beginning or end. I sometime play ‘ticket roulette’ and select a destination on the ticket machine with my eyes closed.”

(http://laurapannack.com/personal/the-walks/#PHOTO_1)

The photos she has on her website have all been taken in different locations, with some taken indoors and some outside. This series has been shot entirely on colour film, but I was unable to find out specifically what type of film or camera she uses.

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-47-42

 

Her photos are captioned simply with the location in which they were shot, she doesn’t provide the date upon which they were taken. The one below is captioned ‘London Fields’. I think that many of her photos have a timeless feel to them, as though they could have been shot either very recently or a few decades ago. I like the way she has framed this photo and unlike most of her others this one is square. screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-47-57

The lighting in this photo is what I think makes it so effective. There is a flare of light shining down on the subjects. I like that none of the subjects seem to be aware of her presence and are looking at something out of shot.  screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-48-07

This is the style of photography I would like to recreate , singling out a subject against a fairly bland background. screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-48-22screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-48-32screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-48-48

This photo is unusual, it seems like she has caught the subject at an unusual moment, perhaps fixing their coat of adjusting their bag. It looks as though it has been taken as the sun was either rising or setting because of the shadow cast on the wall and the warm lighting. The subject has been framed between the pole in the street and their own shadow. screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-49-03screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-49-33

The photograph has been carefully framed by the blossom with the branches of the tree in the top corners and piles of blossom in the bottom corners. I like the contrast between the man and his dog as well, the fact e is dressed head to toe in black and the dog is in white. There is also the obvious size difference. screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-49-45screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-19-51-13

When I’m shooting in Cardiff I would like to create moments inspired by Pannack’s work. I’ll have to find quieter areas of the city or shoot at times of the day when it’s less crowded, because based on my first experience it is difficult to single out a subject against a suitable background.

Leave a Reply

