Street | Photographer Research | Walter Rothwell

Based on my last couple of shoots in Cardiff I think I’m going to start aiming for a style that is similar to these images by Walter Rothwell. This particular set are all panoramic and were shot in London.

This particular image is my favourite from the series, I like how Rothwell has singles out the subject against a plain background. The contrast between the dark wall and the light floor is effective, creating a split down the centre of the photograph. He has photographed her just as she walks underneath the light in the centre of the 3 visible in the frame. The only thing breaking up the symmetry of the image is the lamp post on the right hand side. I’m sure this was left in deliberately.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 00.06.52

I think this photo has a timeless feel to it, it looks as though it could have been taken 50 years ago or 5 years ago. The iconic London skyline in the background adds to this effect. I like how the subjects are placed between two benches, providing a mirror effect. I also like that the subjects faces aren’t visible.Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 00.07.03

I think the choice of angle in this photograph in this image is interesting, there is no skyline included and so it’s not the most aesthetically pleasing image. The two subjects are both looking down at their phones and neither seem to be aware of the photographer’s presence. The fact that the both seem to be stood still rather than walking is also unusual. The man has his briefcase between his legs and is stood at the bottom of a set of steps in the centre which is an unusual place to stop. Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 00.07.16

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 00.07.27

Rothwell has also used symmetry in this panoramic with 3 dresses on either side of the shop window. However the symmetry is not quite perfect, the photo hasn’t been taken from front on, it looks as though Rothwell would have been slightly down the slope and to the left hand side of the subject. Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 00.07.38

The same thing has occurred in this image, it looks as though it could have been taken as though the two men were mirroring each other, however the choice of framing means that part of the bench on the left hand side has been cut out whilst there is plenty of empty space beside the bench on the right. As with the lights in the first image there are three squares in the background, evenly spaced apart and yet the central one isn’t quite in the centre of the frame. Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 00.07.50

I think I could use these images to help inspire my own street photography, however I want to keep my images a symmetrical as I can because I find it can be quite frustrating as a viewer looking at an image that could have been framed evenly and yet it isn’t.

Leave a Reply

