Studio | Photographer Research | Emma Lewis

According to her website ( http://www.emmalewis.xyz/-/galleries/portraits ) Emma is an editorial & commercial photographer based in Somerset & London shooting interiors, lifestyle & food commissions across the UK. Her clients include Country Living magazine, Modern Rustic, Home & Garden and RED.

Her style of photography is similar to what I want to achieve in my final portraits.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 01.49.32

I like how in this portrait both the subject and her surroundings are key elements to the image. The lighting looks natural, however I think that flash might have been used based on how cloudy it looks and how well lit the pink flowers in the foreground are. Another element to this photo that I like is the way the subjects hair and the flowers she is holding compliment each other. I would assume that this was a deliberate action and although simple I think that it is very effective and is certainly something I could take into consideration when taking my own photographs.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 01.49.43

I saw this photo originally in the March 2017 issue of Country Living magazine. Although this image is in black and white I really liked how the colours had been considered carefully in those images that were in colour. There were lots of natural brown tones which fitted in well with the rural business theme.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 01.49.51

This portrait is another that I think I could definitely take inspiration from in my own work. I think that the choice of location is good because the subject is almost being framed by the flowers on the wall behind her. I like how the subject has been posed in this image too, especially for a female.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 01.50.01Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 01.50.14

Despite being indoor portraits I think that the two images above look as though they have been shot using natural/window light which creates a soft look.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 01.50.24

Leave a Reply

